Annacotty wins top prize in Limerick Going For Gold

For Immediate Release
Tuesday, 17 September 2013

Annacotty wins top prize in Limerick Going For Gold

Limerick, IRELAND - There were jubilant celebrations in Limerick’s Strand Hotel this afternoon as the residents of Annacotty claimed the top prize in Limerick Going for Gold.

A total of 10 communities made the final of Limerick Going for Gold TidyTowns Category which had a prize pool of €50,000 courtesy of the JP McManus Charitable Foundation.

The announcement was made in front of a packed audience comprising representatives of various communities across the City and its environs.  Richard Lynch, from ilovelimerick, played Master of Ceremonies for the event.

Mayor of Limerick, Cllr Kathleen Leddin said Limerick Going for Gold has been “a huge success”.

She added: “I’m delighted with the level of participation in the Limerick Going for Gold Campaign and wish to thank those who took part in the various categories. Limerick Going for Gold’s mission was to make Limerick a brighter, better, cleaner place to live, work and visit and everyone who participated in this campaign has contributed to that mission.  I look forward to seeing this initiative grow in 2014.”

“I wish to acknowledge the contribution of the JP McManus Charitable Foundation and the support provided by the Limerick Leader, Limerick Chronicle, Southern Marketing Media & Design, Limerick Post, Limerick Communications Office, Limerick Live 95FM, I Love Limerick and the Parkway Shopping Centre. I also want to thank our sporting heroes Paul O’Connell, Gerry Flannery and Joy Neville for their participation and support,” Mayor Leddin stated.

Speaking on behalf of the J.P. McManus Charitable Foundation, Gerry Boland acknowledged “the efforts made by so many volunteers in making Limerick City and its environs much cleaner.” He added: “Their ongoing efforts are needed, very much appreciated and more people should be encouraged to provide support. Last month under the Going for Gold campaign, a new Lapel Pin was launched by Paul O’Connell depicting the City and County and I would urge everyone to wear it with pride.”

The number of categories in the Going for Gold Campaign, which is now in its third year, this year increased to 4, namely TidyTowns Groups, Other Groups, Individual Merit Award, and Most Creative Garden.

The TidyTowns category was made up of groups who entered the National TidyTowns Competition and the winners were decided by a combination of local judging and results from the National TidyTowns Competition.  Annacotty claimed the top prize (€15,000), followed by Caherdavin in second place (€10,000), Janesboro in third (€6,000), Woodlawn Park in fourth (€4,000), and Carabullawn and Spring Grove in fifth and sixth place respectively (€3,000 each). Each of the remaining four finalists Castletroy View, Fitzhaven/Castlewell/Castlecourt, Garryowen, O’Malley/Keyes each received €1,500.

21 Tidy Town entrants from Limerick City and the environs took part in Limerick Going for Gold. The popular vote finalists were: Janesboro, Caherdavin, Carrabullawn, Spring Grove, O’Malley/Keyes. The remaining four finalists were chosen by the Limerick Going for Gold Panel of Judges. The wildcards chosen were:  Annacotty, Garryowen ,Woodlawn Park, Castletroy View & Fitzhaven/Castlewell/Castlecourt bringing the total number of finalists to 10.

The local judging panel included David Hurley (Limerick Leader journalist), Nick Condon (National TidyTowns adjudicator) and Caroline Curley (Director of Services, Limerick City & County Council). The Limerick Leader, The Limerick Chronicle and Limerick’s Live 95FM were key partners in the event.

The Limerick Going for Gold Community Challenge category comprised community groups that were not National TidyTowns applicants in 2013.  The category featured 20 entries.   First Prize went to South Limerick City Residents Association (€3,000), followed by Glanntan Residents Association (Second Prize: €1,500) and Silverbrook Residents Association (Third Prize: €1,000). There were 5 runner-up prizes of €500 awarded to Knockhill Management Group, Drominbeg Residents Association, Project Reclaim (O’Malley Park), Kilteragh Residents Association, and Glencairin Residents Association.

This year, the Individual Merit Award categorywas introduced as it was considered important by competition organisers that recognition be given to individuals for their contribution to the local environment. The following recipients were awarded specially commissioned Gold Medals in a presentation box by Gerry Boland from the J.P. McManus Charitable Foundation: Sean Flanagan (6 Hartigan Villas, Moyross), Kevin O'Dwyer (34 Garryglass Ave., Ballinacurra Weston) , Stephen Cleary (4 Gurteen Gardens, Ballinacurra), Smith Gautam (38 St. Josephs St), Sean Gibbons (13 Churchfield, St. Patrick's Road) and George Gleeson (Rosbrien Road, Ballyclough).

The Garden Competition category, which was sponsored by the Parkway Shopping Centre, carried a prize fund of €1,000 and featured 21 entries.  Roger Beck from the Parkway Shopping Centre presented the prizes.  The winners were Teresa and Gerry Ryan, 70 Greenfields, Rosbrien (1st), Robert O’Byrne, 12 Willow Court, Kennedy Park (2nd), and Sarah Carmody, 28 St Josephs Street (3rd).

Limerick Going for Gold is run by Limerick City & County Councils in association with the JP McManus Charitable Foundation, Live 95 FM, The Limerick Leader, Limerick Chronicle, Southern Marketing Media & Design, Limerick Post, I Love Limerick, the Limerick Communication Office and the Parkway Shopping Centre.

For further information on Going for Gold visit /

ATTN NEWSDESK: High resolution images will be issued to your newsdesk by Alan Place Photography (+353 (0) 83 1732679 /

Dunphy Public Relations (DPR)
Connolly, Ennis, Clare, IRELAND
(TEL) 00353-868534900


Last update:18/09/2013